Common Types Of Vegetarians

admin / October 16, 2017

Pescatarian

Pescatarian

Pescatarian is someone who abstain from eating meat and other animal products with the exemption of fish. Some argues that this is not a type of vegetarian because vegetarians don’t eat meat at all, even fish. This term is not commonly used, however many people are adapting this kind of diet.

Flexitarian or semi-vegetarian

Flexitarian

There is no doubt that eating the vegetarian way gives a lot of health benefits and advantages. That is why there is increased rate of people becoming vegetarian. However, adapting to this kind of diet is not easy as it is difficult to give up the eating habit for years. Flexitarians are those who almost eat the vegetarian way but saying never to meat. Flexitarians eat meat once a week or occasionally.

Lacto-ovo vegetarian

Lacto-ovo vegetarian

People who do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal flesh of any kind, but do eat eggs and dairy products are lacto-ovo vegetarians (“lacto” comes from the Latin for milk, and “ovo” for egg). This type can be categorized into two – the lacto vegetarian and the ovo vegetarian.

Vegan

Vegan

 

Hearing the term vegan gives an impression of the most restrictive type of vegetarian diet. Vegans do not eat meat of any kind, poultry, eggs, fish, and any processed food containing animal products. Some vegan do not use or wear animal products too such as leather. Some refrain from eating food that are made using animal product although the finished product may not contain animal product, such as sugar and wine. There are some debates whether honey fits into a vegan diet. There is a sub type of this diet which is the raw vegan diet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *